Following the closure of the Greenland Research Commission in Greenland (KVUG) by the end of 2012, the Greenland Research Council was established on 1 April 2014.

The Greenland Research Council is composed of representatives from all research areas:

  • Science
  • Health
  • Social Sciences
  • Humanities
  • Technology


The 8 members, appointed for 3 years at a time, hold at least 2 meetings a year.
The Research Council sets its own rules of procedure, which is then approved by Naalakkersuisut.

Read the rules of Greenland Research Council here (in Danish)

Naalakkersuisut appoints the President and other members of the Council in their personal capacity, which means that the individual members are appointed by means of an overall assessment of their professional skills and experience.

Council membership can thus be maintained independently of changes in the employment relationship at a later date, if the member so wishes.

The Greenland Research Council is a national and independent organization, and therefore, in its advice and in its other work, is not subject to instructional authority from Naalakkersuisut.

The Greenland Research Council works to promote and strengthen Greenlandic research, which is rooted in and benefits Greenland.

The Greenland Research Council evaluates PhD & PostDoc, Business PhD, and Research Promotion grant applications, as well as allocates research funding from Research Promotion.